Bedrock Radio

Post: Havering Sports Award Winners

Havering Sports Award Winners


The Havering Sports Awards Ceremony took place last night (9th Feb) at the Upminster Golf Club.

The finalists had to be living in the local area to be nominated, judges had a tough job ahead of them,  the nominees had  demonstrated a high level  of commitment  and  dedication with so much talent in Havering the  ‘quality’ of sports people within the borough being so good.

The Mayor of Havering Cllr Brian Eagling and his Consult was among the special guests that attended the event, he said:  “We love coming here because its good what they do  for the small children and the elderly residents of our borough, it’s so important.”

The winner of the Lifetime Award was awarded to Doug Tierney, 75,  to honour his dedication within the community as Chairman of Havering Athletics club said: “Everything I’ve don’t in sport has not been about an award we do it to coach the kids so they can win them.”

Volunteering within the community is so important and this is acknowledged with the Sports Volunteer of The Year Award, this was awarded to Bob and Julie Griffiths, they run a cycling group for children aged six year to eighteen years, Bob said:  “It all began in 2000 when they wanted a safe place for their children to ride.”

All the winners of each category will receive  a cheque for fifty pound along with a trophy and some individual winners will receive a complimentary membership to Everyone Active Leisure Centres.

Local residents have the new sports centre at Broxhill park to look forward to in September this year, Cllr Brian Eagling said: “Havering is a special place we have lots of greenery and lots of activities, it’s a lovely place to live.”

The Havering Sports Council aims to promote sporting activities for everyone within the borough, it is hoped that these awards will encourage more residents within the community to take part.

The Havering Sports Council has over 70 clubs registered as members with them within the borough and there is room for more.  If you would like information regarding sporting activities within the borough then go to the website

Congratulations to everyone that took part, the winners of each category are listed below:

JUNIOR MALE COMPETITIOR-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by McDonalds Restaurants of Romford)

Ben Calder (Badminton)

JUNIOR FEMALE COMPETITOR-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by West & Coe Funeral Directors)

Michells Huighes (athletics)

SPORTS COMPETITOR-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by MDS Printers Ltd. of Upminster)

Faye Fullerton (athletics)

SPORTS VOLUNTEER-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by Cllr.John Mylod)

Bob & Julie Griffiths (cycling)

SENIOR SCHOOL TEAM-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by Brentwood M & E Services Ltd.)

Coopers Coburn Intermediate Girls Athletics Team

PRIMARY SCHOOL TEAM-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by Cllr.Melvin Wallace)

St.Edwards Primary School Basketball Team

CLUB-OF-THE-YEAR (Sponsored by Havering Sailing Club)

Hornchurch Cricket Club

Doug Riden LifeTime Award

Doug Tierney