Upminster Windmill has just commenced a series of construction works to restore the iconic Grade two listed building.
It was built in 1803 by James Noakes a local farmer, it is one of only six surviving with sails in Greater London.
The windmill is regarded as a significant piece of Havering history, and hosts a Visitor Centre containing a museum of exhibits and photographs as well as a workshop, providing hands on practical place for volunteers can work on restoration parts.
In 2014 London Borough of Havering and the Friends of Upminster Windmill received a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Councillor Melvin Wallace said: “The structure of the Mill has weakened over time and it is essential that this is remedied. The first task is likely to be the removal by crane of the entire top of the Mill. The cap, sails and fantail will be taken away for repair in a specialist workshop. Shortly afterwards the external gallery will be removed and scaffolding will be erected to allow for structural repairs. The aim will be to re-use as much of the original timber as possible to ensure the overall ambience of the historic fabric is maintained.”
The restoration funding was obtained from the Veolia North Thames Trust and the Architectural Heritage Fund, to restore the windmill and provide an education and training centre.
The restoration project is set to take approximately two years for completion.
If you want more information or would be interested in working as a volunteer should email the project’s Community Engagement Officer, Gemma Smith, at firstname.lastname@example.org.