Bedrock Radio

Post: Team London Nomination for a Bedrock Volunteer

Team London Nomination for a Bedrock Volunteer

The Team London Volunteering awards will take place on the 6 November 2017.

The annual event will take place at the City Hall, London to celebrate individuals that are making outstanding contributions to their communities.

Lee Howe, has been a Bedrock volunteer for nearly 7 years and has been nominated for the category ‘Supporting and Inspiring.’

Lee, 21, has been a trustee and looks after all the engineering and technical sides to the station as well as providing a mobiledisco service for the station as required, all while working full time.

Annette Flewitt, who nominated him said:  “When something goes wrong he’s usually the first person we call no matter what time of day, just to keep our station up and running to provide music to our patients and listeners.”

There will be many celebrity ambassadors and VIP guests at the event including the Mayor of London.


The 2017 Team London Awards shortlisted nominees are:

Environment & Healthy Living

  • Benson Styles, 999 Club
  • Maxine Nottage, Richmond Fellowship
  • Jay Thapa, Skills & Care
  • Paul Whynacht, Camden Green Gym
  • Steve Crook, Hoxton Trust
  • Scott Mailey, Eynsford House Community Garden
  • Tritton Vale Pocket Garden
  • The Bluebell Centre Build Team
  • The Food Chain Volunteers

Supporting & Inspiring

  • Lee Howe, Bedrock Hospital Radio
  • Rossella Castello, Hestia
  • Henna Begum, Mildmay Mission Hospital
  • Clare Woods, Jigsaw4u
  • Justin Williams, Whizz Kidz
  • Delores Brown, Age UK
  • Street Buddies
  • WAND Parent Champions
  • LAWRS’ Volunteer Team

Community Action

  • Helen Tran, Pocklington Trust
  • Niccolo Ciulli, Island Advice Centre
  • Leia Butler, Haven House
  • Steve Whitmore, Multiple charities
  • Marie Hancock, Cricklewood Town Team
  • Lynda Swindells, Spires
  • Friends of Blake Park West Wickham Village Day team
  • Silver Linings
  • The Gap volunteers


  • Megan Humphrys, Kentish Town City Farm
  • Luke Heldt, Camden Sports & Physical Activity Team
  • Jamila Ford-White, YMCA East London
  • Natalie Bourne, Angels Cheerleading Academy
  • Joy Cuff, RDA Stables, Park Lane Teddington
  • Richard Kenworthy, Harrow Saint Mary’s Cricket Club
  • Hillingdon Slipstreamers Cycling Club
  • Ealing Half Marathon CIC
  • BIGKID Foundation Community Football Programme Volunteers

Uniformed Youth Groups

  • Emma Cheetham, Police Cadets
  • Amy Cook, St John Ambulance
  • Savannah Roe, Police Cadets
  • Robert Millar, St John Ambulance
  • Emma Haslam, Girlguiding
  • Stephen Gafsom, Scouts
  • St John Ambulance London volunteer leadership team
  • Wild Wolf Explorer Scout Unit Leaders
  • Air Training Corps, Surrey Branch

Culture in London

  • Sonnie Carlebach, Judaism Gallery
  • Georgina Bailey, Haringey Shed
  • Stephanie Clarke, Actors Jam
  • Amelia Dunn, Havering MIND
  • Claudia Cotton, St Mungo’s Hilldrop Road
  • Jenny Collett, Rainham Hall
  • Kenley Revival Project – education volunteers
  • The Carved in Stone project team
  • Team Pride

Long Service Award

  • Fatima Khasimi
  • Roy Anderson
  • Anna Milford
  • Wendy Smith

Volunteer Centre – Volunteer Award

  • Val Sheehan
  • Mary O’Driscoll
  • Nicola Walsh

Team London Business Award

  • Good Day Productions
  • Belmond
  • n;gaged
  • Hogan Lovells PC Pals
  • Lloyds Banking Group Charity Mentors
  • KPMG City Academy Volunteers
  • Natwest

Winner of the Crowdfunded Project Award

  • Punch and Juicy Market Place