Bedrock Radio

Post: Havering Sports Awards 2017

Havering Sports Awards 2017

Havering Sports Council celebrated their annual awards ceremony on the 19 February 2018 at The Upminster Golf Club welcomed by club captains Lee Shaw and Linda Graham.

The  Mayor of Havering  Linda Van Den Hende attended the ceremony.

The Mayoress said:  “The volunteers that coach the children do a fantastic job within the borough.”

The nominees must be residents within the London Borough of Havering.

Peter Bruce, President for Havering  Sports Council said:  “It gets harder to judge every year with so much talent in the borough.”

He also added:  “The children they are fantastic.   I am a tennis coach  the children are fantastic they work so hard, and love to tell me jokes.”

The ceremony was hosted by John Whitby with the awards being presented by the categorie sponsor.

Mr Whitby said:  “Sport is one common bond we all have in common.”

The winners received a trophy and a cash prize for  £200 went to the Junior Competitor winner and Disability competitor winners.

The Doug Riden Lifetime Achievement Award is nominated to someone who  has been  committed and  dedicated for more than fifteen years, this years winner was Warren Roe.

Councillor Melvin Wallace said:  “Everyone here tonight is a winner.  We have some excellent facilities in the borough including the 1 year old Noak Hill centre with its popular 3G pitches and the awesome new Sapphire centre,  There is so much to choose for those that want to get fit.”

There was a buffet to conclude the event.

Cllr Wallace added: ”I joined the new centre, I would like to do a triathlon.”

The winners are as follows:

Junior Sports Competitor of the year was won by Max Law.  (Sponsored by West & Coe)

Sports Competitor of the year was won by Geoff Webb.  (Sponsored by MDS Printers)

Sports Volunteer of the year was won by Sam Harrison  (Sponsored by Cllr John Milod)

Disability Sports Competitor was won by Bradley Donovan. (Sponsored by the Beadle Family)

Senior School Sports Team of the year was won by Coopers Company & Coborn U19’s Gymnastics Team.  (Sponsored by Brentwood M & E Services LTD)

Primary School Sports Team winner  St Edwards Athletic Team  (Sponsored by Cllr Melvin Wallace)

Sports Club of the Year was won by Havering Athletic Club.  (Sponsored by DMS Fencing)

Bedrock would like to congratulate the winners and everyone that was nominated.

For further info regarding Havering Sports Council: