Bedrock Radio

Post: Havering Sports Awards Presentation 2016

Havering Sports Awards Presentation 2016

Havering Sports Council celebrated their annual awards ceremony on the 6th February 2017 at The Upminster Golf Club.

The deputy mayor of Havering  Linda Van Den Hende attended the ceremony.

Cllr Melvin Wallace said: “The council will continue to look after sport in the community and will not be reducing any monies set aside for sport.”

The nominations are adjudicated and whirttled down ready for the big night.

The nominees must be residents within the London Borough of Havering.

The ceremony was hosted by John Whitby with the awards being presented by the categorie sponsor.

Mr Whitby said:  “Sport is the development of life skills, working together to see what your capable of.  Staying healthy reduces the cost of healthcare.”

The winners received a trophy and a cash prize for  £200 went to the Junior Competitor winner and Disability competitor winners.

Peter Bruce, President of the Sports Council said: “Every year it gets more and more difficult to chose a winner, a reflection of the high standard of  athletes within Havering.”

The Doug Riden Lifetime Achievement Award is nominated to someone who  has been  committed and  dedicated for more than fifteen years, this years winner was Jean Tierney.

The Deputy Mayor of Havering said:  “Sport is great for keeping up your fitness, a healthy body makes for a healthy mind, I am very pleased to be part of this ceremony.”

There was a buffet to conclude the event.

Cllr Wallace added: “Plans for Harrow lodge the 60 year old centre to be updated will hopefully go forward in July aimed at completion for 2020.”


The winners are as follows:

Junior Sports Competitor of the year was won by Matt Luff.  (Sponsored by West & Coe)

Sports Competitor of the year was won by Lauren Deadman. (Sponsored by MDS Printers)

Sports Volunteer of the year was won by Juhn Duncan. (Sponsored by Cllr John Milod)

Disability Sports Competitor of the year joint winners Oliver Beadle and Amy Marren.  (Sponsored by the Beadle Family)

Senior School Sports Team of the year was won by Coopers Company & Coborn Boys U16.  (Sponsored by Brentwood M & E Services LTD)

Primary School Sports Team winner  St Edwards C of E Water Polo Team. (Sponsored by Cllr Melvin Wallace)

Sports Club of the Year was won by Havering Athletic Club.  (Sponsored by DMS Fencing)

Bedrock would like to congratulate the winners and everyone that was nominated.

Listen to the podcast to catch some reactions from, the Deputy Mayor of Havering,  Linda Van Den Hende, Cllr Melvin Wallace and Winner Leanne Deadman.